Courtesy: United Soccer League
USL Announces 2015 Awards Finalists
Release: 10/19/2015
Print RSS
Related Links

USL News Release

Monday, October 19, 2015

TAMPA, Fla. – The finalists for the 2015 USL Awards were announced on Monday, as the league revealed the nominees for five awards following the conclusion of a remarkable season on Friday night. Eastern Conference Finalist Louisville City FC and Western Conference Finalist OKC Energy FC led the way with three nominations apiece.

The 2015 USL Awards will be announced from October 26-30, alongside the 2015 USL All-League Teams. Voting was conducted by team management and a national panel of media in each USL market. Fans will also get the opportunity to vote this week, ahead of the final announcement.

The 2015 USL All-League Team will be announced on Monday, October 26.

Only one nominee returns for a second consecutive season in the same category, with the Rochester Rhinos’ Bob Lilley earning nomination for Coach of the Year.

2015 USL Award Finalists
Goalkeeper of the Year – October 26
Odisnel Cooper, Charleston Battery
Brandon Miller, Rochester Rhinos
Evan Newton, OKC Energy FC

Defender of the Year – October 27
Bryan Burke, Louisville City FC
Shawn Ferguson, Charleston Battery
Daniel Steres, LA Galaxy II

Coach of the Year – October 28
Bob Lilley, Rochester Rhinos
Jimmy Nielsen, OKC Energy FC
James O'Connor, Louisville City FC
Steve Trittschuh, Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC

Rookie of the Year – October 29
Brady Ballew, Tulsa Roughnecks FC
Kharlton Belmar, Portland Timbers 2
Ken Tribbett, Harrisburg City Islanders

Most Valuable Player – October 30
Matt Fondy, Louisville City FC
Danni König, OKC Energy FC
Luke Vercollone, Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC

In the Community
USL Best Seat