Courtesy: TBD
USL PRO Awards Finalists Revealed
Release: 09/24/2014
Print RSS
Related Links

USL PRO News Release

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

TAMPA, Fla. – USL PRO has announced the finalists for its 2014 regular season awards, honoring the Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year, Defender of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year and Coach of the Year from the 2014 season.

Sacramento Republic FC, which will host the Harrisburg City Islanders in Saturday night’s USL PRO Championship Game at Bonney Field (10:30 p.m. ET, YouTube) has finalists in four categories after finishing second in the regular season table in its inaugural USL PRO season. Orlando City SC and the Richmond Kickers, both dispatched from the postseason by Harrisburg, also have finalists in four categories.

The award winners will be announced at 4:30 p.m. ET Friday at the 2014 USL PRO Championship Press Conference at the Citizen Hotel in Sacramento, California. Participants will include USL President Tim Holt and the management, coaches and players from both teams.

Votes for the USL PRO honors are submitted by USL PRO team management and select media from each market, and finalists are determined based on total All-League votes.

2014 USL PRO Award Finalists

Most Valuable Player
Matthew Delicâte, Richmond Kickers
Rodrigo Lopez, Sacramento Republic FC
Kevin Molino, Orlando City SC

Coach of the Year
Leigh Cowlishaw, Richmond Kickers
Adrian Heath, Orlando City SC
Bob Lilley, Rochester Rhinos
Preki, Sacramento Republic FC

Defender of the Year
Luke Boden, Orlando City SC
Nemanja Vukovic, Sacramento Republic FC
William Yomby, Richmond Kickers

Goalkeeper of the Year
Jake Gleeson, Sacramento Republic FC
John McCarthy, Rochester Rhinos
Joe Willis, Richmond Kickers

Rookie of the Year
Bradford Jamieson IV, LA Galaxy II
John McCarthy, Rochester Rhinos
Tyler Turner, Orlando City SC

In the Community
USL Best Seat